Last of the Tomcats ...

Discussion in 'Warbirds International' started by Red Ant, Aug 17, 2006.

1. -al---

-al--- Well-Known Member

I'd expect that fireing a rocket head-on has the least chance of scoring a hit, though I'm not an expert in the field of rocketry
    rockets are for pussies :)

2. babek-

babek- Well-Known Member

[​IMG]

Iranian upgrade of F-5, called Azarakhsh II (Saeghe).

Here you have your double vertical stabilizers :)

Last edited: Aug 22, 2006
  3. Red Ant

Red Ant Well-Known Member

Nope, actually most air-to-air missiles generate best PK's (probability of kill ... not player kill :p) when fired head-on into the face of a closing plane. Simply because this greatly decreases the distance the missile has to fly and therefore reduces the energy it'll lose while flying towards the enemy. *1
    I'm only remember this from my excessive Falcon 4.0 gaming so the figures aren't necessarily correct, but for instance the DLZ (dynamic launch zone) of an AMRAAM when fired head-on extended to something like 20+ N.M. whereas in a tail-chase scenario it could drop to as little as 7 N.M. at which point the missile is barely a BVR weapon anymore.

God I love using all those acronyms ... it makes me feel tough and cool! :cool:

*1 Of course this doesn't necessarily apply to older heat-seeking missiles, some of which are not all-aspect capable meaning they must be fired from behind the enemy in order to lock onto his engine(s).

4. looseleaf

looseleaf Well-Known Member

"macho-fighter" Ha ha ha..it's not even a fighter...it's a big fat flying missle platform. No F-14 except in the movie ever had a dogfight in the traditional sense. Launching missles from 7 to 50 miles away is hardly dogfighting.

As the F18 has the same missles AND guns any real fighting bwtween the two of them and the F14 pilot is dead meat and the F14 a pile of expensive metal on the ground or under water.

Your "Hulk Hogan" is a balding old fat man with a very limp penis.....