The Guitar Thread

Discussion in 'Off Topic International' started by Jacobe, Jul 26, 2005.

1. bizerk

bizerk Well-Known Member

2. looseleaf

looseleaf Well-Known Member

Whaaaaat ????? Martin don't count anymore for acoustics???

I figured you'd be a Seagull man there Mac....

Well Sir, I'm just a student and don't know much.. a long while ago I did some comparative shopping as this po' lil white boy couldn't afford much in the guitar department. I looked around and decided the best bang for my guitar buck was a Yamaha ET-21 with steel strings. Everybody told me DO NOT use steel strings as your first guitar. I didn't give a shit. I wanted to hear that "steel string acoustic sound". I could be a shit player, and I the best I could be will always be a shit player. However no matter how bad, it's always "that" sound... even going up and down the scale sounds good to me....

Didn't even mind the blisters.........

to paraphrase Bullet, he said it best: "... just sample a whole bunch and the right one will talk to you....."

3. Rainer

Rainer Well-Known Member

I will attest to this. Back in the day I was in the market for a new acoustic and Takamine was just starting to get hot. Like you, I played 4 or 5 of the same make/model for about 90 minutes at a shop one day. Settled on one that felt and sounded like a completely different BRAND than the others.

Unlike you, however, I didn't buy. I should never have shopped when I couldn't afford to purchase. By the time I could afford it, it was gone. Have yet to replicate the feel/sound of that particular guitar.

4. Jacobe

Jacobe Well-Known Member

great

5. bizerk

bizerk Well-Known Member

Martins. Taylors and Guilds are sweet guitars but costs a pretty penny. Yamaha makes excellent guitars Loose :)