Tips? How to tell the English they are barbarian?

Discussion in 'Warbirds International' started by grobar, May 6, 2005.

1. Zembla JG13

Zembla JG13 FH Beta Tester

Well, ok, you might be talking about political analyses or something, but I'm just speaking in general.

I'd scrap engineering from that list as there's a tantrum of complex mechanics involved in engineering. Over here at least. It's not necessarily that the things are too simple so they need to thicken the text, it's more like Red Ant put it.

<Z>

2. -pitz-

-pitz- Member

Speaking as an ex-scientist and doctor, the technical language we used was essential for proper communication between ourselves. Having said that American textbooks were usually twice the thickness of the English equivalent for the same content. As a student I considered the extra verbiage of the US versions pretentious but later when I had more time discovered they were probably more readable as a result. Speaking personally, I find if something is readable I remember it. (Off topic I found the Da Vinci Code unreadable as it was so badly written).

We then arrive at the knotty problem of communicating our knowledge to the general public. The 'simple' words and diagrams we use gives just a precis of the 'problem' but is usually sufficient for it's needs. An unfortunate side-effect of this, in Britain at least, is that as a result of this simplicity an awful lot of the population believe they know as much as the expert and can argue on equal terms. Not surprising I suppose, since little or no knowledge is now required to get good exam grades!

I think that the above can be applied to other areas of expertise.

3. Zembla JG13

Zembla JG13 FH Beta Tester